I am not my body

Every now and then I work on a page or so from Beautiful You: A Daily Guide to Radical Self-Acceptance by Rosie Molinary. The page I worked on yesterday had a message to the effect of “I am not my body, my body is not me.” This message really resonated with me because I often feel trapped within my body. I like the idea that instead of having to work for my body (or some kind of ideal body), my body allows me to move and do activities like dance and surf and run and play and laugh and sing and cry.

I pledge to find out ways that my body can work for me. I promise to appreciate my body as a vehicle for meaningful activities instead of using my body as the source of my meaning. My body will change, for better or worse, but the skills that I acquire for accepting my body and growing outside of my body will improve with time. I will find more consistent self-esteem if I am grounded in the activities that my body allows me to do.

Positive affirmation for the day: I am learning to have more compassion for myself.

Two accomplishments from yesterday: (1) Finalized plans for my boyfriend’s birthday and (2) Finished reading my Acceptance and Commitment Therapy book for Anorexia (The Anorexia Workbook: How to Accept Yourself, Heal Your Suffering, and Reclaim Your Life)

This entry was posted in Recovery Tools and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I am not my body

Leave a Reply

