Inspiration for dining well

Ben and I often go to Souplantation when we feel the need to load up on some vegetables. Last night was one of those kinds of nights. There’s a quotation by Virginia Wolf on the wall of our local Souplantation, “One cannot think well, love well, sleep well, if one has not dined well.” I know my brain has subconsciously registered that quotation many times before, and Ben and I have even talked about the irony that in her final stages Virginia had be to be spoon-fed, last night was the first time I finally started to embrace it. Virginia is correct that I have been thinking more clearly, feeling more love, and sleeping better since I have been in recovery and following my meal plan. I took a picture of that quotation on the wall with my phone so that I can always have it with me.

On a side note, one of my favorite TV shows (Breaking Bad) collided with one of my least favorite foods (Ensure). I am not sure I would have noticed the significance of the Ensure box, beyond that Walter packed money into it, if I did not have personal experience with Ensure.

I appreciate that my process through recovery has added depth to my awareness of the world around me, even at the simple level of finding more meaning in random quotations and TV show references.

This entry was posted in Recovery Tools, Weight Gain/Maintenance and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

