Complex Emotions at Tango Weekend

I am sore! My body aches all over from participating in the West Coast Tango Marathon this weekend, which is the first time since entering treatment that I have been allowed to dance to my heart’s content.

Slide1

I have mixed feelings about the tango experience from this weekend.

First, I am grateful for the freedom to dance. A research study published in 2012 titled “Argentine tango dance compared to mindfulness meditation and a waiting-list control: A randomised trial for treating depression” by Pinniger et al (Complementary Therapies in Medicine) found that Argentine tango is “as effective as mindfulness meditation in reducing levels of self-reported depression.” Like mindfulness, tango brings me to a zen state of being. In tango, my mind is free from all other distractions and stresses and I truly feel like I exist only present in the moment, connecting with the music and my partner. I advocate for everyone to have an activity that clears the mind, acting as a brain reset button. Tango also substantially improves my mood; it is nearly always guaranteed to make me happy.

That said, I no longer experience the high highs that tango once offered. When I was a beginner dancer, every dance was amazing. I was thankful for anyone and everyone who gave me a chance. As I improved, I learned that some people have a stiff tango embrace that would pinch my back and others do not listen to the music or their partners. Now, I would rather sit and wait for a quality dance than dance all night with a mix of people who make me uncomfortable. When I went dancing this weekend, I did not have to sit and wait very long between dances. Even though I have not been dancing as much as I used to, and was afraid I would look out of shape, many of my favorite leaders remembered me and asked me to dance for many delicious tandas (sets of 3 – 4 tango songs danced with the same partner). I enjoyed dancing with every one of my dance partners; and yet, tango does not give me the same endorphin rush it once used to.

When I was lonely, I craved the hugs that the tango embrace offers. My need to be hugged helped me develop a strong and yet sweet embrace that is often complimented. When I was previously unsatisfied in my personal relationships, tango was my favorite form of physical contact. But, I am not lonely anymore, and I do not crave and need closeness in tango to the same degree. I am finally in a fulfilling romantic relationship wherein my favorite hugs are from my boyfriend, Ben. While I am happy in tango, I am happiest with Ben.

Tango pales in comparison now, which is sometimes a tough adjustment. I miss the way I used to feel about tango even while I am grateful I have found something better. Dancing this weekend was no longer pure joy; I felt some sadness at the loss of the way tango used to make me feel. Originally, I tried to numb out that sadness. As I begin to acknowledge the sadness, I feel happier again about participating in the tango marathon this weekend. I am learning to feel two contradictory emotions simultaneously.

I look forward to having another opportunity to explore my increasingly complex feelings about tango at the San Francisco Tango Marathon next month, which has consistently been my favorite tango event.

This entry was posted in Emotions, Recovery Tools and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

